GoGoGoJoel's Training Journal - ABCbodybuilding

Go Back   ABCbodybuilding > Iron, Metal, & Steel!! > Online Training Journal

Notices

Old 10-05-2008, 11:26 PM
gogogojoel should change his/her status!

Default GoGoGoJoel's Training Journal

Hey all,

I started posting here a couple months ago when I first started lifting "heavy" but I have been internet-less for the past month since school started.

A little bit about myself (for those of you who may be interested)... I'm a 20 year-old sophomore at UC Davis, where my area of study is Exercise Biology, and as such, all aspects of human physical nature intrigue me immensely.

I've always felt that I had a pretty decent strength to weight ratio, but I've never really considered myself "strong". Throughout my teens I was active in numerous sports; significantly soccer and cross country, and to a lesser degree, wrestling, swimming, and track. I would say I'm a really well-rounded athlete, but I've always lacked that cutting edge explosiveness that you see with many football and/or basketball players.

Right now, at 5'11", I'm around 158 lbs. I feel like I could weigh 175 easy if it wasn't for my chicken runner legs. I can run a 4:40 mile, but I can hardly run a 400, or even a 100 meter for that matter, at a much faster pace. To reverse this somewhat I plan to hit the squats and the 50 meter sprints hard during the fall/winter months.

My personal bests include:
Squat: 250
Deadlift: 220
Bench: 190
Pullups: 21 Full

My goals are to gain some solid muscle, and increase explosive abilities, all while maintaining aerobic prowess.

The split I've been following for the past few weeks looks like this:

Day 1: Chest Triceps
Flat Bench Press 3X8
Dumbbell Flys 3X10
Machine Incline Press 12+10+8
Decline Pushup 3XFailure
Overhead Tricep Extension 3X10
Tricep Rope Pulldown 3X10
Dips 3XFailure
Decline Diamond Pushups 3XFailure

Day 2: Legs Abs
Squat 3X8
Leg Extension 3X10
Straight Leg Deadlift 3X10
Hamstring Curl 3X10