ABCbodybuilding

ABCbodybuilding (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardcore Training (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   How to train my back with neck pain? (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96145)

Kryogen 02-23-2014 03:09 AM

How to train my back with neck pain?

Hi, I havent been here for a few years. I joined 13 years ago when I was 16 (now 29).

During those few years when I lifted back then, I injured my neck doing behind the head wide grip lat pulldowns.

I started lifting again 2 weeks ago and I am having an issue with neck pain.

I cant seem to find back exercices that do not make my neck hurt. Even if I keep my neck straight, pretty much all back exercices put a strain on your neck and they hurt.

Worst with pulldowns (front), and hurts with shoulder presses also.

Any suggestion of back exercices that would not hurt my neck? Seems to me like lower cable rows hurt less, but I can still feel the tension in my neck.

rickck48 02-23-2014 08:02 PM

Have you tried the head supported barbell rows and dumbbell rows? These are under the exercise section. I would suggest you read others to see if they are to your liking. Best of the day. If I find anything else I will bring it along. RTR!

Ratcat 02-24-2014 08:19 AM

Do squats. Thats not a back exercise I hear you say. Well do them anyway. Do them for three months and then try out your back exercises. Don't have to go too heavy to start with but with good form. Keep your chin up and after three months work up to body weight. Then start your back exercises. :)

Algavinn 02-25-2014 02:10 AM

This isn't the type of pain to ignore. I would not be working out with that pain persisting. Have you had it looked at by an MD/PT or other medical pro that can work with corrective issues? Was the pain instant as you started to work the back, or is it afterward your workout/builds as you go?