ABCbodybuilding

ABCbodybuilding (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/index.php)
-   In Depth Nutrition (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   HELP! Confused about calorie intake (http://www.abcbodybuilding.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95442)

Highpockets 06-22-2012 05:28 PM

HELP! Confused about calorie intake

Ok, I am an analyst by nature and profession but I cannot find a clear answer to my question.

I am currently losing weight (not pounds but waste size and flab).
I am working out 4 days a week (weights and elliptical).
I can see the gains i'm making in muscle and ability.

Here's my quandry. I track my calories closely, but if I eat the desired calories to make me lose weight (less) then am I starving my muslces of what they need to grow (protein)? I don't mind a little fat, always gonna have it, but I also can't pound the food like I used to when young (i'm 48).

Where's the balance? What should I shoot for calorie/protein/carbs wise to gain muscle but not gain fat back?

Any pointers or points to other writings would be much appreciated!

God Bless

kaaijer 06-25-2012 08:21 PM

Its all about timing. The timing of consuming calories is more important than the actual amount of calories! I'm tempted to type a wall-o-text about this topic but let me try to keep things short. Here's some general guidelines for gaining muscle while minimizing fat gains or even loosing fat:

-Eat your biggest meal AFTER your work-out.
-Workout in a (nearly) fasted state, save those calories for AFTER your workout (see my first point)
-Give your body some time to dig into your fat reserves by staying in a fasted state for over 12 hours. Search for 'intermittent fasting', has worked for me and many others.
-Go to bed on an empty stomach, it will improve your sleeping cycle and improve GH release, thus having a positive impact on body composition.